FIFA reveals nominees for 2018 The Best Football Awards

Inter Milan 'line up Lionel Messi move next summer'

Chelsea star nominated for prestigious award alongside Ronaldo and Messi

Other contenders included World Cup Golden Boot Award victor Harry Kane, Belgian attacking midfield duo of Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard, and Egypt's forward Mohamed Salah, who finished a glittering season with English Premier League (EPL) side Liverpool.

World Cup winners, Antoine Griezmann and Raphael Varane, join worldwide team-mate Mbappe on the list, and Golden Boot victor Harry Kane is also included.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi were the regular names in the shortlist for The Best FIFA Men's player award but joining the list was the 2018 FIFA World Cup Young Player of the tournament Kylian Mbappe.

Croatia's World Cup Golden Ball victor Luka Modric was also named, as was England's Golden Boot victor Harry Kane.

For the first time, Federation Internationale de Football Association has opened voting within days of the World Cup, where Ronaldo and Messi both exited in the round of 16.

But France's star in Russian Federation was Mbappe, who came to the fore in the knockout stages with his four goals which helped Les Bleus win the tournament for a second time.

Gunman in Los Angeles grocery standoff was feuding with grandmother
Her grandson, 28-year-old Gene Evin Atkins, allegedly shot her before barricading himself inside a Trader Joe's. "My baby sister. Atkins had been licensed to work as a security guard, but his license expired in November 2017, according to state records.

Neymar finished third in the voting a year ago, but despite winning three domestic trophies with Paris Saint-Germain after leaving Barcelona, an underwhelming World Cup performance on his return from a fractured foot saw the Brazilian superstar omitted.

Meanwhile, Mbappe said he hopes to be in contention for the Ballon d'Or alongside Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric, Raphael Varane and PSG teammate Neymar.

Four women and six men are part of the 10-candidate list for the women's coach of the year award.

Apart from Deschamps, head coaches of other World Cup semi-finalists, Zlatko Dalic (Croatia), Roberto Martinez (Belgium) and Gareth Southgate (England), were also among the 11 nominees.

Once the shortlist has been revealed, national team captains, coaches, fans and journalists will be issued with their voting slips which they until August 10 to return. The nominations include Sarina Wiegman, the 2017 victor who coaches the Netherlands, and Asako Takakura, who coached Japan to theWomen's Asian Cup title.

Latest News