Fakhar Zaman becomes fastest batsman to score 1000 ODI runs

Fakhar Zaman amassed 515 runs in the five matches against Zimbabwe at a staggering average of 257.50

Fakhar Zaman amassed 515 runs in the five matches against Zimbabwe at a staggering average of 257.50

He scored 141*, 76*, 100* and was run out on 88 against Zimbabwe in the fifth and final match.

The 28-year-old southpaw reached the 1,000-run landmark in just 18 innings.

Even in the ongoing Zimbabwe ODI series, Fakhar Zaman has smashed a staggering 515 runs in mere 5 innings.

Fakhar has now played 18 ODI matches in his career so far having scored 1065 runs at an average of 76.07.

Days after scripting history by becoming Pakistan's leading run-scorer in ODIs, left-handed Fakhar Zaman entered record books today too as he became the fastest batsman to breach the 1000 runs in ODIs.

'Not thrilled' with interest rate hikes
Presidents have historically avoided criticizing the Fed, which is created to be independent from political interference. China filed a challenge against the latest round of USA tariffs with the World Trade Organization this earlier week.

Salman Butt was the previous record holder for his country with 451 runs in the five-ODI series against Bangladesh in 2007. The duo also became the first pair to score 600-plus in a bilateral series.

The comprehensive win against Zimbabwe by a margin of 5-0 helped Pakistan surpassed its arch-rival India in the list of teams winning most 5-match ODI series by winning each match of it. He also became the first Pakistani batsman to score over 500 runs in an ODI series. In the fourth ODI, he broke the world record for the highest opening wicket stand in ODIs with Imam-ul-Haq.

The triple-century opening partnership was the first in ODI's and Zaman-Imam together overtook the 286-runs Sri Lanka's Sanath Jayasuriya and Upul Tharanga had scored against England in 2006.

In the first half of his innings, Babar kept the runs ticking as he brought up his half-century off 55 deliveries.

Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza (captain), Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Ryan Murray, Peter Moor, Tarisai Musakanda, Blessing Muzarabani, Liam Nicholas Roche, Brian Chari, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava and Donald Tiripano. He paced his innings brilliantly - going from 50 to 100 in just 17 balls.

Latest News