BJP levels charges of forgery on Congress Rajya Sabha candidate Naran Rathwa

Rajya Sabha polls Rajiv Shukla not Naranbhai Rathwa to file nomination from Gujarat

Bengaluru: Congress rules out support to JD(S), decides to contest third RS seat

The term of four members of the Upper House - Rajiv Chandrashekar (Independent), Rahman Khan (Congress), Basavaraj Patil Sedam and R Ramakrishna (Both BJP) - would get ended on April 2, 2018. Three of the seats went to the BJP, and one each to ally Shiv Sena and the opposition Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party.

Simultaneously, seeking to cash in on the confusion in the Congress ranks, the BJP had quickly fielded its former state minister Kiritsinh Rana as its third candidate.

"We have accepted nomination papers of all candidates except one after scrutiny", a top official involved in the scrutiny process told The Hindu.

Speaking to reporters, Maharashtra Parliamentary Affairs Minister Girish Bapat said Maharashtra State Commission for Women Chairperson Vijaya Rahatkar had withdrawn from the fray.

Had the BJP's third candidate not withdrawn his nomination, it would have required an election.

Narayan Rane thanked PM Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis and Union minister NItin Gadkari for his Rajya Sabha candidature.

Toys 'R' Us to Close or Sell All 735 US Stores
Its scale gave it leverage with toy sellers and it disrupted general merchandise stores and mom-and-pop shops. The plan had been to take the company public again, but weak sales have prevented that from happening.

The list of candidates from other parties include senior journalist Kumar Ketkar (Congress), Anil Desai (Shiv Sena) and Vandana Chavan (NCP).

Despite a whip issued by the JD (S) asking its MLAs to vote for B M Farooq, its Rajya Sabha candidate in 2016, the MLAs had voted in support of the Congress' KC Ramamurthy.

The announcement came after Kiritsinh Rana of the BJP and P. K. Valera, a Congressman who filed his nomination paper as an independent candidate, withdrew their nominations.

The Congress has 42 MLAs in West Bengal Legislative Assembly while the Left Front had 32 legislators, but two of them joined the TMC.

Banerjee had stated on March 9 that her party would support Singhvi in the Rajya Sabha elections from the state, even before the Congress' announcement of the candidature.

Latest News